Now let me tell you all the things that are wrong with this.

  1. Conflating Black civil rights movements with fictional white characters (Mystique is played by a white woman, her parents were probably white)
  2. Mutants don’t have “slave names”, people taken from Africa and enslaved by whites, however, were forced and brutalized into taking Christian/white European names, language, “culture”, and religion
  3. Mutants may prefer not to be addressed by their given names, but they, again, do not have “slave names”
  4. Slavery and Black justice movements and cultural consciousness should never be conflated with fictional white characters created by white writers
  5. Mystique is being used as a metaphor because of the literal color of her skin and appearance…and it would be compelling and acceptable if she was actually Black and not a fictional blue character in a comic book series

I understand what they were going for and this is why its just unacceptable.

13 thoughts on “Did Mystique really just say, ‘I don’t answer to my slave name’

  1. They were comparing being a mutant and growing up in a world that doesn’t accept mutants to slavery. In the movie, had the government been able to gain control of the mutants, they would have been thrown into concentration camps. I don’t see it as being too off-base, but I think the point was to give the audience the idea that slavery of mutants was possible if the humans and mutants didn’t find a way to work together.

    Besides that, Mystique referred to that as her slave name because she was forced to hide her mutant side.

    1. Um, yes, I understood that. I’m saying its racist to co-opt and conflate Black people’s oppression (slavery in this instance) for fictionalized white characters. There is NO comparison, no excuse for using slavery and the Black Civil Rights Movement in this context. White privilege is disgusting.

      1. Black people have not been the only one’s enslaved throughout history, so you have no way of knowing it’s specifically using the Black Civil Rights Movement in the context. “Slave name” can reference any number of people and cultures. In the movie, it can simply reference the idea that some mutants felt enslaved by family members, government, etc and that they don’t consider the name given to them by these people as their real name.

      2. No, you would be dead wrong. Don’t try to diffuse the situation and derail or disrupt the point of this post.

        The X-Men movies are full of references and allusions to the oppression and enslavement of Black/African people in America to anyone knowledgeable and paying attention. Not the Greeks. Not the Irish. Not Indians. BLACK AMERICANS and AFRICANS. Its a running theme in the movies. If you knew anything about slavery in America and white European colonialism and exploitation in Africa, you wouldn’t make ignorant remarks like this. You would indeed know that white slavers forced the African peoples they enslaved to take white European Christian names and did everything possible to beat, indoctrinate, and rape their culture, language and history out of them, hence the term “slave name”.

        I doubt you’d understand that even if you watched the movies fifty times each and took Black and African studies courses for one hundred years, so I won’t waste examples from the film on you on you since you seem so convinced that you’re right and I’ve already written about racism/X-Men movies in several posts online, but do come back and try again when you know better. You are summarily dismissed, and I feel sorry for you and your blind ignorance, and offer you no excuses.

  2. Anyone who knows the history of the Xmen comic story-line knows that Stan Lee the creator of Xmen used the comic as a way to reflect the civil rights movement of the sixties, and disguise it as a science fiction comic. He used the current figures of the time to formulate characters in the comic ie: Professor X (Martin Luther King) Magneto (Malcolm X). His mission was in his own way to show the idiocy of prejudice based on genetic differences. I guess you had to read the original comics to understand what his message was. No doubt he was successful obviously some racial bigots still cant see the message.

    1. People pop up and think they’re being smart when they make comments like this.Fuck the comic, fuck the movies, fuck the animated stuff–here’s what’s real:

      Stan Lee and those who picked up his work appropriated and co-opted the Civil Rights Movements (a liberation movement headed by, started by, and full of Black people) for a series that’s full of white people. The metaphor/analogy he’s going for is about the same as pureblood/half-blood/Muggle/squib stuff in Harry Potter–it doesn’t present any meaningful, three dimensional, or realistic messages about racism in real life because whites are still included. There’s nothing revolutionary or justified about that.

      He did what white people do–capitalize on the oppression, struggles, and accomplishments of Black people and other PoC (for a fictional universe where there are actually how many Black people as main characters in any adaptation??? Like Storm, right). So, like with Harry Potter, I’d be concerned about what message is actually getting through and you’re a perfect example of why that concern is necessary.

      So don’t come over here trying to act all righteous like a good little X-Men stan, ‘kay, thanks.

    1. This comment completely ignores all references and allusions throughout X-Men that are specifically taken from the experiences and oppressions of Black people, such as slavery, the Black Civil Rights Movement, and the general motivations and events related to the Black Power Movement. Enslaved African people were forced to take white names as part of their enslavement and the destruction of their racial identities/cultures. Even the creators and producers say somewhere that X-Men is ripped off, co-opted, from the struggle of the Black race. So I will disregard this “We all bleed red” bullshit remark without further comment.

  3. I’ve seen the X-men movies and I think I will have to see them again. I admit I do not know much of history, and I know there is much to be learned. Being white, and living a life that is moderately comfortable, I can only speak from my own point of view, but I do try to listen and learn about what others go through and also appreciate what I do have and to not take it for granted. At the age of 45, I learn daily that I have a lot of learning to do. 😉

    History sadly, is filled with those that would take the power away from others. I think…and again, my history knowledge is horrible so I will not even try to say I know more than anyone else…or that I am close to being right, but I think that in any society that the power balance is far from even. There is a woman at work who is black and she feels quite strongly in many of the ideals you express and we do have conversations on the topics. I tell her, coming from my racial background, I can imagine but never fully experience life as she does, but I do want to know about it to more fully to try to understand how the world works outside of my own world view.

    My daughter, being mixed, also has her own point of view which is different than black or white. She often has told me that she felt she didn’t fit in anywhere as she was shunned by both sides and she personally don’t care for any label of color, wishing only to be known as herself. She doesn’t like labels of that sort unless it means she is at a party and someone is pointing her out from across the room. 😉 But more seriously, she has been stopped by the cops to be searched, just by walking home from work. She has heard racial slurs that she told me about and I don’t understand why the color of your skin should/would/ could make you better or worse than other people…and I don’t think it should. I hope that some day that the things we accomplish and the ways we behave will be the things that others take note of, not how we look but I imagine that will not be something that happens soon or even for some time.

    Anyway, sorry that is a bit of a ramble. I admit when I see some of your posts they do upset me a little but only because they seem to lump all white people into one person sometimes….and maybe that is how you mean it or maybe you think we are all the same and all have the same “I’m white so I deserve it all just because I’m white,” which I very much hope is not the case.

    Is thinking that all white people are the same, all that different than saying that all of any people of the same race, sex or creed all are the same just because it’s easier to label people you have never met and easier to assume you know them all?

    At the same time, I do want to take what you say and give it careful weight and not only react by pure emotion. And again, this is far away from the X-men subject, it is simply something that is often on my mind, the hows of how we can get things to be a better balanced world when it comes to how we relate to each other. We can’t change what our ancestors did in the past but we can try to make it better for those who live now.

    If you find the things I say to be unhelpful, then I will refrain from posting more. I often don’t know what is acceptable for this topic, wanting to be respectful but also wanting to be honest and of course I can only do it from my own point of view, no matter how much I learn about how others feel or how much I might sympathize. So if this isn’t helpful, then let me know and I will humbly bow to your own view, and try to learn what I can from your future posts.Thank you for your time.

    1. I’ve had white people say and do way worse things to me and other non-white peoples (Sometimes I hesitate to use the phrase People of Color). You seem reasonable by comparison but sort of passive on he subject of white racism, which is oftentimes the most dangerous kind of white person to engage with. They’ll talk you around in a circle and never learn anything, with no intention of doing so either.

      Your daughter: I stay far away from telling mixed race people how to identify. If you have a white parent, the idea is that you benefit from their white privilege. In my experience, Black people, for example, don’t want to shun mixed race people but they don’t know if they can trust them to do the right thing and support them in the face of white hate or any racial hate directed at them. Growing up around white people who are casually or violently racist makes Black children and mixed race children passive about it or makes them want to defend it because they think its normal (read also as “okay”) or accept it as normal.

      As for “lumping all white people”, you say you can only speak from your experiences. So can I. I have never met a white person who is not racist or seen a story, fictional or otherwise, that wasn’t anti-Black (therefore, racist) or racist against another group. And my race has hundreds of years of forced, violent dealings with whites to back it up, whether whites acknowledge that history, willfully ignore it, or use some kind of twisted convenient perspective to reason it away. So I guarantee you that whatever whites experience with other races that causes them to lump them IS NOT THE SAME. It does not cut both ways, generally.

      YES, no one can change what white people did to, like, every race they ever came across, including Black peoples, in the past…and CONTINUE to do today. Only you can change yourselves and most white people are not changing in any meaningful way. Which only causes everyone around them to suffer. And they don’t (seem to) care because they are not suffering except when they get offended about being told the truth of themselves and their race.

      Educate yourself on histories that aren’t whitewashed (and saturated by the mainstream’s colorblind racism and subversion tactics). Look for the truth in words like mine instead of getting offended by the truth. I’ve met white people older than you who racist and ignorant, and stubborn about it too. DON’T BE LIKE THEM.

      1. I finally found the post. 😉 my tech skills aren’t the worst but they could be better. I had looked at my phone and saw you replied, but I like responding on the computer more…and it’s easier for me to read too 😉 but when I went to look for the computer link, I suddenly couldn’t find it. sheesh. But it’s all good now, as I’m obviously found your words once more.;)and made the actual bookmark as I meant to do before.

        Anyway, I appreciate that you took the time to respond. I have skimmed your response so far, but I want to read it over when I’m not so distracted by other things not all that helpful for this topic. Also I want to make sure I’m in a calm mood and not only responding to get something out as fast as possible without appropriate self reflection.I think sometimes it’s easy for me, or maybe many, to see certain words/ phrases and even before looking at them to see the true meaning, just jumping to conclusions and being offended when maybe that wasn’t the intent to begin with. I try not to do that, but I know I can if I’m not in a calm mind. So…from skimming I think I will agree with many points that you have said, but if you won’t mind, I will come up with a better reply later on, though soon. I do like to meet minds with others who have view points I may not know of or may not have considered as I hope it will help me to grow each day. Again, thank you for your time and your response.

      2. hi again. Sorry for taking so long though I doubt my reply will be all that wonderful or inspiring. 😉 I have been thinking about it for days, not able to sleep, writing the reply in my mind over and over again. Some of these mental letters end up being a whole novel and then I have to pull myself back and go “I really don’t think she want to know that.” 😉 *and somehow I still managed a small novel here…*

        I’ve talked to my daughter and I’ve talked to Deb, who is the one I told you about at my work and I talked to my sister. Mostly people said that I should focus on being the best person I can be and treat anyone I meet with respect. They also advised that I not respond to your letter in concerns with race as we really don’t know each other, and it’s hard to judge any person fully unless you know them more than what you can get from online posts. I think that communication is a way to understand each other better and if we spend all of our time ignoring the issues, even if the talk doesn’t go smoothly, then something good can often happen.

        So, saying all of that 😉 I thought I’d go over what you said to me in the last response but try to not ramble on too much. And then add any last thoughts on this at the end…and then go run and hide 😉 *I actually rarely respond to anyone online, as I’m usually pretty sure I’ll just just say something wrong, but being a bit hidden behind the net wall, makes one a little braver or more foolish…or both.*

        Anyway…

        I am sorry for the treatment you received from people in the past, and any time someone is treated in anyway simply because of the color of their skin, then I think it is wrong. *I am not good at taking a stand on issues but this I believe completely.* And watching shows on this subject and the story of segregation and then desegregation, I could only shake my head and think “What the hell? Why would anyone even think those things?why would anyone treat someone worse because of their skin but I know it happens and that is just wrong.

        Now as to my passive part. Yeah, but I’m like that most of the time and about many things…not just race. Heck I didn’t even tell my dad that I don’t like fish for about 15 years because I didn’t want to offend him 😉 but that’s not really the same. So, I don’t really tend to talk people into anything or around and around, because there are few people who I will actually talk about important issues in the world. I tend to say things to people who I know are open to hearing various points of view and then giving me just as much back in return, ones that I know who won’t put me down for my thoughts but who will tell me when I am wrong and why. I constantly want to learn new things, and wish I wasn’t slow in taking things in, but I do the best that I can. When an issue comes up with racism, I talk to my daughter and I talk to people at work, usually Deb because she has strong views but she knows that I will listen to what she says and take it to heart. And she said you can’t just divert the issue of black and white and make excuses because it is real and I agreed that there are issues there and they must be looked at if we as a human race, will ever over come them and come together for a better future.

        Now on to my daughter having white privilege.. I asked her what she thought of that and her reply was “Yes, I do. It’s just a fact.” She wasn’t about to shy away from it and she pointed out that she also was spoiled for other reasons such as being the first great great grandchild born in our family so she was doted over quite a lot. She actually met both her great great grandparents on my side of the family, though they have passed away since then. The point is, she knows she’s always been good at getting her way, and now that she’s been in prison for the lat year and a half, she’s also learned quite a lot of things about herself. We have also talked about those things and one of things she said was “I realized I’m pretty self entitled.” which we both laughed at because it was pretty obvious. She didn’t even realize that having a TV wasn’t a basic right that all people did not have. So that is something she is working to be more aware of, as do I.

        Now I asked my daughter about the lumping thing and she said maybe I was taking things too personally and that made me think of something else. That if you said “White people do…whatever it is that is unfair to someone based on color,” and that isn’t me who does it, then you’re actually not talking about me. 😉 and so even though I should be aware of those things when they happen, I can also step back and think about it before trying to take offense.

        Also I don’t lump all black together because they are not all one person no matter how much racists treat them that way. Even when a black person has said racial things to me, I don’t look and go…”Oh all black people think that way so now I will act like they are all out to get me or they all think I am horrible just for being white.” Where I work, I meet quite a lot of people, from all over the world. I work in a tourist attraction and I live in Saint Louis. We have visitors from India, Scotland, England, Germany, Japan, etc…and of course our own country. And I’ve also done waitressing for some years and I’ve learned that no matter how I think a person will act by their looks, I have usually been completely wrong. After all, we don’t live in a Disney world where you can tell someone purely from their looks…but I do understand the instinct to judge first and ask questions after. Maybe this is something passed down that has to do with survival. You didn’t go up to a bear and assume this one might be really nice…you tended to run or take out your rock or stick or gun..but now we can talk to each other and hopefully people will 😉 though…no I don’t think people are actually bears 😉 of any color.Maybe more like cats really. Cats do not like change…but maybe I’m giving people too much credit there. Cats are much better. 😉 and they don’t care what color their fur is anyway, even if they’re the kind of cat who has no fur…but I digress…

        So, no one can change the past…we agree on that which is good 😉 but bad things do keep happening now and sadly based on race. This is still wrong and it will always be wrong. Just as it’s wrong to treat people as less than people because of their sex or if they have less limbs or if they’re not pleasing to someone’s eye, or if they sleep with the *wrong people,* (consenting adults only here :P) or any other thing that someone will draw a line to say they are better because of it.

        But I do agree, being offended by what you said is not helpful to me or anyone else. What I should do is step back, not just react and think it’s all about me but actually think, is what you are saying true? I don’t think you were talking about me because I do want to learn and I do want to be the best person I can be toward others in this world. It doesn’t mean i won’t mess up or say stupid things. 😉 Maybe this whole thing is filled with stupid things, though I hope that is not the case. So in the end, even if I don’t always agree with what you say, I appreciate that you say them because then I can take the moment to see how it is true.

        The last part you had was to educate myself. And I will make sure I do not get offended by what you say, but look at it as objectively as I can. The only other thing I can say is, I have tried to always give my daughter more than one side to history and to point out racism/sexism or any other ism’s, so we can talk about it and try to figure out how to not behave in those ways.

        But then you don’t know my history or me enough to know anything I’ve been through. Does that mean I think you should change your whole view because of me? No, I don’t have that right and I never will. You must do what we all do and decide what is right for you.

        As an aside, when my daughter was 8, she finally did meet her real father and that whole half of her family and I encourage her to know them and go see them and she did and she is happy that she knows them. I wish I’d realized that the relationship that I was in was controlling and abusive, but I denied it for a long time and so it made it so she suffered too. Once I was free of my husband, I was able to focus more on her and her needs. I encourage her to explore history and never just take things at face value, and to understand it is the one’s who write the history books who are the ones who decide what history was and she should always keep this in mind.

        Anyway, I think I went on long enough. I’m sure I can go on much longer but mainly I just wanted to read what you write and try to learn from it…even when I don’t completely agree. 😉

      3. First of all, this is my blog and I am responding to you–not the other way around.

        Second, I can only go off of what you tell me about you. I don’t know Deb or what her views are either. For all I know you’re lying about everything. I’m only assuming you’re NOT wasting my time with lies.

        Third, you’re WHITE, or at least using white logic, and obviously very privileged and ignorant. Therefore, you don’t have to agree with me or listen to me even when I’m absolutely right. Whiteness gives you that option. So don’t act like you’re being so gracious, wise, and understanding.

        You are still offended. Because the truth about white people’s relationships to just about everyone and everything else in the world that isn’t kissing their asses often makes them uncomfortable and irrationally angry. This is not something I’m going to agree to disagree with you about: You need to change in major ways, and so do many other members of your race. End of story.

        Last point, I am officially announcing that this conversation is off-topic from X-Men’s appropriating, racist bullshit. I have an e-mail address queenlyspeak[at]gmail[dot]com, use it–if you must insist on patronizing me because you’re “not like the other whities”, drop it in my inbox. I will not be responding on this post anymore. But all this does go to show using white logic that whites may be incapable of dispelling their own ignorance of other people and their willful apathy towards other races. They can’t even unravel their own historical lies and illusions. They can’t see any other truth than the lies that make them comfortable because they’ve told them so many times that those lies have been written as gospel and history, and even others begin to believe them.

Leave a Reply

